Exceptional talent or exceptional promise

Since I am still working on my application, I have not started filling up the form to apply visa on TechNation.
I want to know, ‘do you have to choose whether you are applying for exceptional talent or exceptional promise route, or TechNation’s assessing team decides which path you should be endorsed for based on your profile?’

Although, Tech Nation team will decide the category - appropriate to your overall standing evident from your application, you must explicitly declare whether you are applying for ‘Talent’ or ‘Promise’.

2 Likes

Hello

I read this article

and support it with this other

from @Andrii_Seleznov

Hope can help you :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

@pedrovegagt @Mukesh_Adhvaryu Your comments make sense. I was confused because I have 9 years of experience, out of which I have been involved in start-ups of all sizes (including my own funded startup to a unicorn).
I think it is up to me to take the call. After re-reading the criteria again (and again), I think it would make sense to apply for exceptional talent in my case.
Please share your thoughts on it.

1 Like

Answering my own question as well to summarise what I learned so far -

1. Home office visa application form will ask you explicitly which category you are applying for.
  2. Candidates with up to 5 years of experience apply for exceptional promise category unless they have a reason to do so (ie they have more than 5 years of work experience but their exposure to digital tech is less than 5 years, or their work has not reached levels equal to of a leader, but shows promise)
  3. If you apply for a category and TN thinks you should be assessed for another category unless a reason given by you, they will change the category you will be assessed against.